2019 EMCRA Collaborative Award: Winners

Our congratulations to the EMCRA (Early-Mid Career Researchers Association) Collaborative Award winners for 2019

Winners were announced in mid-August. A copy of the official announcement has been provided below.

It is with great pleasure that we can announce the winners of the 2019 EMCRA (Early-Mid Career Researchers Association) Collaborative Award. This seed funding was established to promote collaboration between Level A & B postdocs in the School of Biomedical Sciences. Each application was required to have 2-4 postdocs from at least two different departments in the School, on a project of their own devising. The total amount of funding available in 2019 was $60k.

This year we received 15 applications from a total of 36 applicants. The applications were of incredible quality, reflecting the exceptional talent of the postdocs in our School. We thank all applicants for their applications and were pleased to be able to provide detailed feedback from three external reviewers for each application. We are delighted to be able to provide funding to the following four projects for 2019.

The winners are:

Dr Jeffrey Liddell (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics) & Dr Nichollas Scott (Department of Microbiology and Immunology) for their project: “Identifying the glial neurotoxic factor/s responsible for neurodegeneration

Dr Mariana Del Rosso de Melo (Department of Physiology), Dr Makhala Khammy (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics) & Dr Aung Aung Kywe Moe (Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience) for their project: “Is cardiorespiratory regulation affected by perinatal cannabinoid exposure?

Dr Michael Morgan (Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience) & Dr Susan Northfield (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics) for their project: “Elucidating roles of BDNF in osteoarthritis pain using peptide mimetics

Dr Stacey Keenan (Department of Physiology) & Dr Joanna Sacharz (Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) for their project: “Targeting Fat: Characterisation of protein-protein interactions regulating lipid metabolism

Congratulations again to the winners, and thank you again to everyone who submitted an application!

To keep aware of EMCRA's activities, you can follow us on Twitter (@sbsemcra) or Facebook, or email us.


Jeff, Jess and Claire

2019 EMCRA Co-chairs, on behalf of the 2019 EMCRA steering committee