Biomedical scientists named Australia's research field leaders

Congratulations to School of Biomedical Sciences researchers who have been named as health and medical sciences research field leaders!

Professor James McCluskey, Dr Debnath Ghosal and Professor Daniel Hoyer from the School of Biomedical Sciences have been named as Australia’s top leaders in the health and medical field by The Australian 2020 Research Magazine. This means that they are the researchers with the highest number of citations from papers published in the last five years in the 20 top journals in their field.

Debnath Ghosal

Dr Debnath Ghosal is a primary research fellow at the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He also heads the Debnath Ghosal laboratory at the University of Melbourne, where he and his team are particularly interested in bacterial molecular machines that are responsible for toxin delivery (bacterial secretion systems), and bacterial cytoskeletal filaments that execute a diverse array of cellular functions. We congratulate Dr Ghosal for receiving the Field Leader award for molecular biology.

Daniel Hoyer

From the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Professor Daniel Hoyer was named field leader in pharmacology and pharmacy. Professor Hoyer leads the Hoyer Laboratory: Translational neuroscience, which has a focus on neuropeptide and monoamine receptors-ligand interactions, with an emphasis on orexin,  in health and disease, especially insomnia, Alzheimer’s disease, depression and other Neuropsychiatric disorders.

James McCluskey

Professor James McCluskey received the award for the field of immunology. He has been Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at The University of Melbourne since 2011, and prior to this, he was Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Medicine Dentistry and Health Sciences and Chair of Microbiology and Immunology at The University of Melbourne. He has an international reputation for his research in basic and clinical immunology and his primary interest lies in histocompatibility and immune response genetics.

We congratulate these researchers on their outstanding achievements within their respective fields. To read the full list, click the link below:

Read more