Archive news

Published: 21 Feb 2019

In conversation with Prof Roy Robins-Browne and Dr Danielle Ingle

Welcome to our five-part video series: 'In Conversation with Prof Roy Robins-Browne and Dr Danielle Ingle'.In this series, Professor Roy Robins-Browne (Dept. Microbiology & Immunology, Doherty Institute) and Dr Danielle Ingle (previously Dept. Microbiology & Immunology, Doherty Institute) discuss their experiences during Dr Ingle's PhD, covering topics such as:How to stand out when approaching a potential PhD supervisor,What's involved in a PhD at the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences andHow long it takes to write a PhD.

Published: 23 Jan 2019

A/Prof Thomas Gebhardt and PhD Simone Park's study on tissue resident memory T cells in melanoma receives Australian and international coverage

Associate Professor Thomas Gebhardt and PhD Simone Park (Dept. Microbiology & Immunology, Doherty Institute)'s study on tissue resident memory T (TRM) cells' role in controlling melanoma, 'Tissue-resident memory CD8+ T cells promote melanoma-immune equilibrium in skin', was recently published in Nature and received Australian and international coverage.

Published: 23 Jan 2019

Ms Simone Park (PhD) awarded a Cancer Council Victoria Postdoctoral Fellowship

University of Melbourne Research Officer, PhD Simone Park (Dept. Microbiology & Immunology, Doherty Institute), has received a 12 month Cancer Council Victoria Postdoctoral Fellowship to further her research on how tissue resident memory T (TRM) cells control cancer. The Fellowships were established to provide Victorian scientists who have recently completed their PhD with support to continue and enhance their work for a further 12 months.

Published: 17 Dec 2018

School of Biomedical Sciences NHMRC grant success

The NHMRC Project Grants have been formally announced. Our School has been awarded a total of 26 grants, making up for more than a third of the grants awarded by the NHMRC to researchers from the University.Please join us in congratulating the following School members on their successful grants. Special mentions to Professor Katherine Kedzierska for receiving two ARC Discovery Projects and Professor Matthew Watt for receiving two NHMRC Project Grants.

Published: 17 Oct 2018

Prof Shitij Kapur and Prof Stephen Kent among Australia's top health and medical researchers

Professor Shitij Kapur (Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences) and Professor Stephen Kent (Laboratory Head, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Doherty Institute, School of Biomedical Sciences) have been awarded Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) Fellowships.They join Professor Fabienne Mackay (Head of School of Biomedical Sciences) who is an existing AAHMS Fellow.

Published: 21 Sep 2018

Using chemotherapy to fight malaria

Leading malaria researcher Professor Leann Tilley (Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) and her team have discovered that cancer treatments can help overcome growing resistance to a frontline antimalarial drug, artemisinin.Our congratulations to Professor Tilley and her team for the publication of their research paper 'Artemisinin kills malaria parasites by damaging proteins and inhibiting the proteasome' in Nature Communications on Tuesday 18 September.

Published: 07 Aug 2018

Creating Bioentrepreneurs: revisiting our panel conversation with video footage.

Video footage from Tuesday 17 July's Creating Bioentrepreneurs: Enterprise Specialisation Launch is now available and can be viewed below and on the Faculty of MDHS Vimeo page.Hear from Lynn Johnson-Langer as she shares the Johns Hopkins (USA) experience, and from our panel as they share a conversation about what is needed in this space and the way forward. For more information about the Master of Biomedical Science, Enterprise Specialisation, please visit the Enterprise website.

Published: 20 Sep 2016

Our People

It's a pleasure to acknowledge our School Academic and Professional colleagues recently promoted, appointed to new or other roles, and welcoming new members to our School.  Congratulations to Professor Andrew Brooks appointed Head of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Professor Elizabeth Hartland as Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Partnerships and External Relations); Professor Daniel Hoyer as Deputy Head of School; Academics promoted to Level C and a warm welcome to our new staff, Suzie Benson and Gillian Waters.