Mackay laboratory: Tissue-resident memory T cells; lymphocyte differentiation; peripheral immunity

Research Overview

View Professor Mackay's latest publications listing here.

The Mackay Group studies memory T cell responses, with a focus on the signals that control tissue-resident memory T cell differentiation, and a view to harness these cells to develop new treatments against infection, cancer and autoimmune conditions.


Mackay Group at the Doherty Institute


Professor Laura Mackay, Laboratory Head and Theme Leader in Immunology

Dr Susan Christo, Senior Research Officer

Dr Ali Zaid, Senior Research Officer

Dr Thomas Burn, Research Officer

Dr Maximilien Evrard, ARC DECRA Research Fellow

Dr Raissa Fonesca, ARC DECRA Research Fellow

Dr Claire Gordon, Research Fellow and Infectious Diseases Physician (Austin Health)

Dr Kelly Paton, Laboratory Manager

Dr Tobias Poch, DFG Walter Benjamin Programme Research Fellow

Dr Natasha Zamudio, Laboratory Manager

Dr Pirooz Zareie, ARC DECRA Research Fellow

Dr Simone Park, Honorary Research Fellow

Brooke Davies, Research Assistant

Keely McDonald, Research Assistant & Communications Coordinator

Allison Clatch, PhD Candidate

James Dosser, PhD Candidate

Rachel Evans, PhD Candidate

Louis Hua-Yi Lee, PhD Candidate

Andreas Obers, PhD Candidate

Maleika Osman, PhD Candidate

Justine Seow, PhD Candidate

Hongjin Lai, PhD Candidate (Visiting Scholar)

Joey Kuai, Masters Student

Chloe Low, Honours Student

Research Opportunities

This research project is available to PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Researchers to join as part of their thesis.
Please contact the Research Group Leader to discuss your options.