Villadangos laboratory

Research Overview

Our laboratory studies the first event that triggers adaptive immune responses: the presentation of pathogen or tumor antigens to T cells by Dendritic Cells, B cells and Macrophages. We are characterizing the development, regulation and impairment of antigen presenting cells by pathogens, inflammatory mediators and tumours. We are also dissecting the biochemical machinery involved in antigen capture, processing and presentation. We use this knowledge to understand how T cell-dependent immunity is initiated and maintained, and apply it to design better vaccines and immunotherapies against infectious agents and cancer.

Techniques

Our lab uses cutting-edge biochemistry, cell biology and immunological techniques to unravel important immunological problems. Techniques include:

  • Experimental models of viral, bacterial and malaria infection
  • Analysis and development of immunotherapies against cancer
  • CRISPR-Cas9 for specific gene targeting and whole-genome library screens
  • Biochemistry
  • Flow cytometry
  • Immunofluorescent microscopy
  • Intra-vital microscopy
  • Proteomics and transcriptomics
  • Immunological assays

Staff

Laboratory Manager

Jo Pooley | E-mail: g.healey@unimelb.edu.au

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Laura Cook | E-mail: l.cook@unimelb.edu.au
Jieru Deng | E-mail: jieru.deng@unimelb.edu.au
Hamish McWilliam | E-mail: hamish.mcwilliam@unimelb.edu.au
Patrick Schriek | E-mail: patrick.schriek@unimelb.edu.au

Research Assistants

Nusaiba Abdelgabbar | E-mail: nusaiba.abdelgabbar@unimelb.edu.au

PhD Graduate Researchers

Mitra Ashayeripanah | E-mail: m.ashayeripanah@student.unimelb.edu.au
Sebastian Cruz Gomez | E-mail: scruz@student.unimelb.edu.au
Hui Jing Lim | hlim9@student.unimelb.edu.au
Toshihiro Nakamura | E-mail: toshihiro.nakamura@student.unimelb.edu.au
Christina Scheffler | E-mail: cscheffler@student.unimelb.edu.au
Atefeh Yaftiyan | E-mail: ayaftiyan@student.unimelb.edu.au

MSc Graduate Researchers

Zixhuan Dou | E-mail: dzixuan@student.unimelb.edu.au
Yuting Yan | E-mail: yutyan2@student.unimelb.edu.au
Xiaoyue Zhang | E-mail: zxyellie5@gmail.com

Hons Students

Olivia Campisi | E-mail: o.campisi@student.unimelb.edu.au
Isabel Kiley | E-mail: i.kiley@student.unimelb.edu.au

Research Publications

Click here for the results of a PubMed search of Jose's publications.

Click here for the results of a Google Scholar analysis of Jose's publications.

Research Projects



Faculty Research Themes

School Research Themes

Molecular Mechanisms of Disease



Key Contact

For further information about this research, please contact Head of Laboratory Professor Jose Villadangos

Department / Centre

Biochemistry and Pharmacology

Unit / Centre

Villadangos laboratory

MDHS Research library
Explore by researcher, school, project or topic.