About Us

The School of Biomedical Sciences Digital Learning Hub provides a contemporary and flexible learning experience for students while fostering academics to be at the forefront of educational technology. The DLH transforms SBS digital capabilities across multiple arenas, underpinned by evidence-based best practice, to create a world class student experience.

This state-of-the-art facility fosters digitally enabled education through modern technology and resources. This exciting initiative provides rich opportunities for both students and academics to engage with and create digital learning tools. The deployment of cutting-edge learning technologies such as Sectra tables and Virtual and Augmented Reality (VR/AR) creates an immersive and enriching learning experience for students. Availability of recording equipment and computers equipped with powerful creative software suites empowers academics to create new and exciting learning resources, supported by training facilities and regularly scheduled professional development opportunities. Finally, the Hub is an incubator for the development of innovative digital learning tools across multiple platforms, bringing the ideas and talents of our academics to life and enriching the student experience across our subject offerings.

The DLH empowers academics to implement the latest digital learning tools and supports our students to become collaborators and co-creators of an emerging digital curriculum. Our mission is to transform learning and teaching through the collaborative use of innovative technologies and by fostering diverse student-centred education developments.

Digital Learning Hub Staff

A Prof Heather Verkade

Heather Verkade - Director of Digital Learning, School of Biomedical Sciences, and Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology heather.verkade@unimelb.edu.au

Jairus Bowne

Jairus Bowne - Learning Technologies Fellow, School of Biomedical Sciences bownej@unimelb.edu.au

Keenan Hellyer

Keenan Hellyer - Software Developer (Learning Technologies), School of Biomedical Sciences keenan.hellyer@unimelb.edu.au

Digital Learning Hub Operating Committee

A/Prof Heather Verkade: School of Biomedical Sciences, Department of Biochemistry and Pharmacology

Mr Jairus Bowne: School of Biomedical Sciences

Mr Keenan Hellyer: School of Biomedical Sciences

Dr Jessica Welch: Department of Microbiology and Immunology

A/Prof Saw-Hoon Lim: Department of Biochemistry and Pharmacology

A/Prof Charles Sevigny: Department of Anatomy and Physiology

Mr Ben Loveridge: Learning Environments, The University of Melbourne