Biochemistry Specialist Teaching Team win MDHS Award for Learning and Teaching Achievement

Our congratulations to Terry Mulhern, Heather Verkade, Izabela Szambelanczyk Orval, Irene Koumanelis and Allen Espinosa on receiving this award.


Each year, the MDHS recognises the excellence of teaching in the Faculty by awarding the MDHS Award for Teaching and Learning Achievement to outstanding individual teachers or teams of teachers. The review panel considers the applicants on the basis of the range of initiatives that are innovative and consistent with current trends in higher education learning and teaching.  A prize of $5000 is part of the award and is to be used for learning and teaching development.

In the case of the Biochemistry Specialist Teaching Team, the selection panel was particularly impressed by their collaboration with the VCA to develop novel and engaging learning experiences, their practical and scholarly work into addressing student misconceptions and their ongoing dissemination of their practices.

The team will receive their award at the MDHS Learning and Teaching Symposium.