2015 Harry Brookes Allen Anatomy Drawing Competition

Shruti Kotecha won first prize, with her drawing titled "Music to my ears", in the 2015 Harry Brookes Allen Anatomy Drawing Competition.

Many diverse mediums, techniques and creative ideas inspired the fantastic pieces that students produced in this year's Harry Brookes Allen Anatomy Drawing competition which is open to undergraduate students majoring in Anatomy and to those in the first year of the Doctor of Medicine (MD).

Students were able to use a variety of mediums and techniques to creatively interpret specimens in the Harry Brookes Allen Museum of Anatomy and Pathology with five hours to complete their works.

As part of the celebration and official launch of the School of Biomedical Sciences, the School sponsored the competition this year.

Artist, Laura Black was kind enough to make herself available to mentor the entrants and inspired them with her passion and fabulous art works, while judges Professor Fabienne Mackay, Professor Janet Keast, Dr Jason Ivanusic and Laura Black had the unenviable and difficult task of selecting winners.

Secondary school students from across the state were invited this year in a joint event with the Gene Technology Access Centre to participate in the anatomy drawing competition (and also Under the Cover Slip competition) in separate categories. Last year's winner Oshi Swarup enthusiastically mentored and assisted the students as they went about their drawings, which they had one hour to complete.

Congratulations to all the prize winners and to all the entrants on the interesting, diverse and impressive standard of works produced!

First Prize:                              Shruti Kotecha

Runner Up:                             Olivia Baenziger

Highly Commended:               Cheng Feng
                                                Michelle Ng
                                                Gimna Sajini Perera
                                                Molly Wellington                                              

First Prize, this year's
secondary school category:    Natasha DeValle from Sale Secondary College    

Runner Up, this year's
secondary school category:    Lauren Chandran from Bendigo Senior
                                                Secondary College

Have a look on the MDHS facebook page to see drawings submitted by other entrants.

The works of the winners and runners up were displayed at the official launch of the School of Biomedical Sciences on Friday 9th October, and along with the highly commended works, are currently on display on the 1st Floor, Brownless Biomedical Library. 

Thanks to the entrants and all those involved in helping to make it a day full of fun, enthusiasm, inspiration and copious amounts of creativity. Special thanks to Dr Jason Ivanusic and Dr Ryan Jefferies for their hard work in organising and running the competition.

Make sure you go along to the Brownless to check out the wonderful works these students have produced!