Welcome to the School of Biomedical Sciences

One of the University’s largest and fastest growing Schools, this is home to the next generation of biomedical scientists, doctors and health professionals. As part of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences since 2015, the School has 85 research groups, across five departments, awarding-winning teachers and more than 2500 equivalent full-time student enrolments each year. Our mission – to advance human health in Australia, and beyond.

Academic Departments and Centres

Head of School's Welcome

Leading vascular biologist and former Head of the Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience, Professor Wilkinson-Berka was appointed Head of School in August 2020, following Professor Ian van Driel (Interim) and the inaugural Head, immunologist Professor Fabienne Mackay.

With pre-clinical research leading to a discovery that the blockage of the hormone angiotensin II reduces retinal vascular disease, Professor Wilkinson-Berka’s work contributed to the world’s largest clinical trial evaluating angiotensin II inhibition in diabetic retinopathy.

Read more

Around the Biomedical Precinct

The School is part of the largest biomedical precinct in the southern hemisphere. It’s a hub of innovation, exceptional collaboration opportunities and cutting-edge facilities. With more than 40 hospitals, research, teaching and biotechnology organisations – and 10,000 researchers engaged in breakthrough biomedical and healthcare projects – the precinct attracts many of the brightest minds in the country, and the world.

School Executive Team

Pictured (left to right): Front row – Prof Erica Fletcher, Prof Gary Hime, Prof Fabienne Mackay, Prof Daniel Hoyer, Ms Belinda Bain
Back row – Prof Matt Watt, Prof David Williams, Prof Andrew Brooks, Prof Ian van Driel

Postera Crescam Laude

Contact us

For all general enquiries, reception, deliveries and location details please get in touch.

Contact us