BIOM30003 Biomedical Science Research Project

The Biomedical Science Research Project is intended for undergraduate students who have achieved excellent results in the discipline related to the project and is a fantastic way to develop practical scientific skills.

BIOM30003 Biomedical Science Research Project is intended for undergraduate students who have achieved excellent results in the discipline related to the project. Students can undertake a project in several disciplines within the School of Biomedical Sciences, and undertaking a research project is a fantastic way to develop practical scientific skills. It will also provide valuable experience to students considering honours, masters or a PhD.

Before applying to take this subject, students should discuss their intention with the relevant discipline coordinator

DepartmentContactDepartment Website
Anatomy & Neuroscience Dr. Gary Hime - g.hime@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/anatomy-and-neuroscience
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Dr. Leon Helfenbaum - leonh@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/biochemistry
Microbiology & Immunology Dr. Odilia Wijburg - odilia@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/microbiology-Immunology
Pathology Dr. Vicki Lawson - vlawson@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/pathology
Pharmacology & Therapeutics Assoc. Prof. James Ziogas - jamesz@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/pharmacology
Physiology Professor Joel Bornstein - j.bornstein@unimelb.edu.auhttp://biomedicalsciences.unimelb.edu.au/departments/physiology

Application Process

  1. Discuss potential projects with staff in the relevant department/school.
  2. Complete the Biomedical Science Research Project Application Form - this form must be authorised and signed by the relevant department/school.
  3. The form should then be scanned and emailed to BiomedSci-AcademicServices@unimelb.edu.au
  4. If the application is approved, you will be enrolled you in the subject and sent a confirmation via email.
  5. If your application is not approved, you will be contacted via email.