Awards and Gifts

Please join me in congratulating the following recipients of prestigious awards in recognition of their hard work and talent: Jim McCluskey, Russell Howard, Erica Fletcher, Kathryn Holt, Katherine Kedzierska, Christine Wells, Laura Mackay, Nicole Dominado, Trevor Kilpatrick, Daniel Hoyer and Olivia Baenziger, as well as all recipients of ARC and NHMRC grants for 2017.

Details of the awards are as follows:

RecipientsAward Details
Haijin Liu, Ashish Sethi and Aaron Bricefrom the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology are the recipients of the 2016 Sawyer Medal.  Click here for details.
Professor Jim McCluskeyand Professor Jamie Rossjohn (Monash University) received the state’s highest scientific honour, the Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation, for their work on how immune system identifies and fights disease.  Click here for details.
Dr Russell Howardwas presented with The Grimwade Medal for Biochemistry which is funded by the Russell and Mab Grimwade Miegunyah Fund to promote the discipline of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Melbourne by attracting a stellar international biochemist to visit the University, deliver a lecture and receive the award.  Click here for details.
Professor Erica Fletcherhas been recognised with the internationally acclaimed American Academy of Optometry’s 2016 Glenn A. Fry Award and lecture. Click here for details.
Dr Kathryn Holthas been named the Gottschalk Medallist at the Australian Academy of Science’s annual honorific awards. Click here for details
Professor Katherine Kedzierskaawarded Selwyn-Smith Medical Research Prize. Click here for more details
Professor Christine WellsProfessor Christine Wells – Director of the University of Melbourne Centre for Stem Cell Systems – has received recognition for her contribution to the international research consortium FANTOM5 at the 2016 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.
Dr Laura MackayDr Laura Mackay in the Department of Microbiology and Immunoloy was selected as a Victorian Young Tall Poppy for 2016, one of ten winners. The Tall Poppy Awards celebrate up and coming researchers who combine outstanding science with a commitment to communicate the importance of the work more broadly.  Laura’s research has focussed on a recently discovered population of T lymphocytes, termed resident memory cells. These cells as their name implies, once established in tissues largely remain resident there and do not re-enter the circulation but sit armed ready to combat pathogens at sites where they enter the body. Consequently there is a huge amount of interest in immunisation strategies that elicit these cells which have the potential to provide immediate protection from invading pathogens. Consistent with the charter of the Tall Poppy Awards, Laura has an obvious passion and enthusiasm for immunology that is readily apparent and which benefits both the staff and students within the school. Click here for details.
Nicole Dominado A PhD Student awarded 1st prize in the Under the Coverslip competition for her 'Jelly Belly' image. Click here for details.
Professor Fabienne Mackay and Professor Trevor KilpatrickProfessor Fabienne Mackay and Professor Trevor Kilpatrick from the School of Biomedical Sciences join two other MDHS staff members who have been elected as new Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).  Click here for details.
Professor Daniel HoyerChair and Head of the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, was awarded the Maurice Rapport Prize and delivered the Rapport Plenary Lecture at the 2016 International Society of Serotonin Research (ISSR) Meeting.  Click here for details.
Olivia BaenzigerCongratulations to Olivia Baenziger, this year's winner of the Anatomy Student Art Prize. The competition is open to First Year Medicine Students and Third Year Biomedical Science students. Students are given a six hour period to create an artwork using any medium they like, based on specimens in the Harry Brookes Allen Museum. This year students were mentored by renowned sculptor Jennifer Mann, who has recently completed a forensic reconstruction of the Museum’s Egyptian mummified head specimen. Olivia's winning work is titled “Suture Self”, a mixed media artwork of watercolour, pencil and embroidery. It is now on display, with the works of all other entrants, in the Brownless Biomedical Library and on the Harry Brookes Allen Museum Facebook page. A big thank you to our mentor this year, Jennifer Mann, and everyone who produced an artwork during the day. It was fantastic to see so much creativity in the museum! Submitted by Jason Ivanusic
All recipients of NHMRC and ARC Grants for 2017

The School's success rate for ARC Discovery Projects is 40% (Nation success rate 17.8%). This is an outstanding achievement and I congratulate all the successful candidates on their success reflecting the high quality of their work.

NHMRC success rates were 25% for School, 20% for Faculty and 17% for Nation.