Mentoring, teaching and student services recognised in Melbourne Excellence Awards

Three outstanding academic and professional staff members from SBS have been awarded 2023 University of Melbourne Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to A/Prof Kelly Smith, Gillian Waters and Dr Amber Willems-Jones whose outstanding contributions have received recognition.

Associate Professor Kelly Smith

Patricia Grimshaw Award for Mentor Excellence

Kelly is a Lab Head in the Department of Anatomy & Physiology at the University of Melbourne. Her research group investigates the early stages of heart development, seeking to identify novel genetic regulators of cardiac form and function. The Patricia Grimshaw Award recognises Kelly’s mentoring of University colleagues – her outstanding contributions and exceptional skills as a mentor and respect for the development of her colleagues as individuals.

Gillian Waters

Gerry Barretto Award for Outstanding Student Services

Gillian Waters is Academic Programs Manager in the School of Biomedical Sciences. The Gerry Barretto Award is awarded to Gillian in recognition of the outstanding contributions she has made to the quality of students’ University experience including excellence and innovation in areas that contribute to a high-quality student experience and delivering services that are of outstanding quality.

Dr Amber Willems-Jones

David White Award for Teaching Excellence

Amber is a Teaching Specialist/Senior Lecturer in the Department of Biochemistry & Pharmacology, and coordinates the second year practical subject, Techniques in Molecular Science (BCMB20005). The David White Award recognises Amber's overall teaching excellence and her approaches to learning and teaching that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn.

Please join us in congratulating and thanking these recipients for their valuable contributions to our School and University.

The Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday 6 December.