Teaching and Learning

Showcasing our teaching initiatives and awards in our School.

Congratulations to several members of the School who were successful in the recent round of 2016 Learning and Teaching Initiative Grants.

School received a number of 2016 Learning and Teaching Initiatives (LTI ) Grants from the University of Melbourne.  Congratulations to the following recipients:

Jo Russell and Amber Willems-Jones have received funding through a Learning & Teaching Initiative Grant for a school-wide project to review, harmonise and enhance the teaching of scientific writing to prepare research-ready graduates skilled in scientific analysis, critical thinking and communication. Academics from all departments within the school are involved in the project, including Jiangli Tan, Robb De Iongh, Peter Kitchener, Karena Waller, Odilia Wijburg, Vicki Lawson, Fred Hollande, Theo Mantamadiotis, Tony Hughes, Deanne Skelly, Charles Sevigny and Rosa McCarty. The project will generate an educational tool that can be utilised across the School of Biomedical Science, and potentially throughout the wider Faculty. It will also be made available to students through the University’s Academic Skills Unit.

Dr Amber Willems-Jones with Iza Orval from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology on project titled, “Choose your own adventure” – An inquiry-based learning module for practical class students to consolidate their understanding of molecular biology and protein biochemistry.

Valerian Zaitsev, together with Charles Sevigny and Michael Lew were successful in the recent round of Learning and Teaching Initiative Grants, securing funding for a project titled “Interactive statistics modules for undergraduate students”. The aim of this project is to provide students with an understanding of basic statistical principles regarding experimental design and data analysis which can be applied to their own work as well as critical analysis of previously published studies. This will help to build their research skills and improve employability. These modules will be completed by students in their own time and be deployed across a wide range of subjects, minimising the need for repeated face-to-face teaching of the content.

Several members of the Department of Anatomy and Neurosciences will work on a collaborative project between topographic anatomy staff Jenny Hayes, Varsha Pilbrow, Simon Murray, Junhua Xiao, Andrew Tan and Susie Kerby, and Melbourne Brain Centre IU staff Jon Cleary, Roger Ordidge, Brad Moffat, Sonal Josan, Amanda Ng and Robert Williams, together with Ryan Jefferies from the Harry Brookes Allen Museum, and Ben Loveridge from Learning Environments.  Click here for details.