School of Biomedical Sciences NHMRC grant success

The NHMRC Project Grants have been formally announced. Our School has been awarded a total of 26 grants, making up for more than a third of the grants awarded by the NHMRC to researchers from the University.

Please join us in congratulating the following School members on their successful grants. Special mentions to Professor Katherine Kedzierska for receiving two ARC Discovery Projects and Professor Matthew Watt for receiving two NHMRC Project Grants.


Discovery Projects:

Dr Justine Mintern, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyA/Prof Scott Mueller, Microbiology & Immunology
Prof Katherine Kedzierska, Microbiology & Immunology
(two projects awarded)
Prof Jose Villadangos, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Microbiology & Immunology
A/Prof Enzo Porrello, Physiology 


Dr Sebastian Duchene, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyDr Marlene Hao, Anatomy & Neuroscience


Project Grants:

Dr Matthew Rutar, Anatomy & NeuroscienceDr Adam Wheatley, Microbiology & Immunology
A/Prof Kathyrn Holt, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyProf Jose Villadangos, Microbiology & Immunology
Dr Justine Mintern, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyDr Amy Chung, Microbiology & Immunology
A/Prof Daniel Hatters, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyDr Adam Uldrich, Microbiology & Immunology
Prof Paul Gleeson, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyDr Mark Davies, Microbiology & Immunology
A/Prof Stuart Ralph, Biochemistry & Molecular BiologyA/Prof Peter Crack, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Prof Kanta Subbarao, Microbiology & ImmunologyProf Matthew Watt, Physiology
(two projects awarded)
Dr Sidonia Eckle, Microbiology & ImmunologyA/Prof Paul Gregorevic, Physiology
A/Prof Sammy Bedoui, Microbiology & ImmunologyProf Andrew Allen, Physiology
Prof Benjamin Howden, Microbiology & ImmunologyProf Leanne Delbridge, Physiology
A/Prof Scott Mueller, Microbiology & ImmunologyProf Joel Bornstein, Physiology

Partnership Grants:

Prof Tim Stinear, Microbiology & Immunology


We would also like to recognise and congratulate applicants who have not been successful in this round.

The School Research Committee and Departments are here to support all researchers and have in place support systems as well as mentoring initiatives to help applicants improve their applications. Please contact your local Research Committee chair for further details about these opportunities.