School leaders win MDHS Staff Excellence Awards

Congratulations to the SBS staff whose outstanding, values-based contributions have been recognised in 2020.

A number of staff from across the School of Biomedical Sciences, including School Manager Belinda Bain, have received Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences Staff Excellence Awards.

The recipients were announced live at an online awards ceremony with the Dean, Professor Shitij Kapur and the Faculty’s senior leadership on Monday 23 November.

Each award recipient, whether teams or individuals, received $5000 to support a project or activity related to their career development or work of benefit to our Faculty and the recipient.

Congratulations to our winners!

MDHS Award for Professional Excellence and Innovation

Campus Reactivation Working Group and 
Local Implementation Contributions, 
led by Belinda Bain

Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

For excellence in a team-based and collaborative approach to the Faculty's Campus Reactivation Working group, planning, coordinating and operationalising the safe return of staff to campus-based activity in 2020.

Award for Learning and Teaching Achievement

Dr Rosa McCarty
Dr Saw Hoon Lim
Associate Professor Terry Mulhern
Dr Alice Rota-Bartelink

Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, School of Biomedical Sciences and Melbourne School of Population and Global Health

For excellence in interdisciplinary collaboration to develop graduate attributes,  transferable skills and life-long learning in the Bachelor of Biomedicine.

Award for Sustained Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Associate Professor Jason Ivanusic

Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience, 
School of Biomedical Sciences

For excellence in innovative teaching practices, driving active learning of anatomy and inspiring students in the Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Biomedicine.

Read more