Congratulations to our newly appointed professors

Eight academics from the School of Biomedical Sciences have been promoted to the position of full professor in 2019.

As experts in their fields, professors are invaluable for leading the University towards international excellence and recognition. Not only do professors’ innovative teaching and research advance the capacity and standing of the School and University more broadly, but they are also important ambassadors for communicating the University’s work within the wider community.

Our School’s new professors are among 50 appointed across the University this year. We wish them the best of luck in their new roles.

Congratulations to our newest professors:

Photo of Professor Sammy Bedoui 

Professor Sammy Bedoui, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Professor Bedoui’s research examines how dendritic cells and T cells interact during infections, with a particular interest in deciphering how specific innate signals shape these interactions. His work has defined how specific types of T cells protect against bacterial infections.

Photo of Professor Thomas Gebhardt 

Professor Thomas Gebhardt, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Professor Gebhardt’s laboratory aims to understand how the immune system protects humans from infectious diseases on the body’s surfaces in skin and mucosa. His research has contributed significantly to the discovery and functional characterisation of tissue-resident memory T cells.

Read more about some of Professor Gebhardt’s work on tissue-resident memory T cells in melanoma.

Photo of Professor Paul Gooley 

Professor Paul Gooley, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Professor Gooley is an expert in solution nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy. His research group currently uses this powerful tool to determine the structure and dynamics of small proteins.

Photo of Professor Danny Hatters 

Professor Danny Hatters, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Professor Hatters’s research program explores the molecular mechanisms underpinning neurodegenerative diseases, including changes in proteins associated with misfolding and aggregation. In taking novel approaches to studying these proteins, he aims to identify new therapeutic targets for treating these diseases.

Photo of Professor Laura Mackay 

Professor Laura Mackay, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Professor Mackay’s laboratory studies cellular immune responses, focussing on the genes and signals that control resident memory T cell differentiation, with a view to harness these cells to develop new treatments against infection and cancer.

In 2019, Professor Mackay has received several awards, including the Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year, the Eureka Prize and the Woodward Medal.

Photo of Professor Stuart Mazzone 

Professor Stuart Mazzone, Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience

Professor Mazzone is a leading authority on the respiratory autonomic nervous system and sensory neurobiology. His laboratory is interested in the sensory neurons of the respiratory system and the brain circuits that process respiratory sensory information.

Photo of Professor Scott Mueller 

Professor Scott Mueller, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Professor Mueller is a leader in basic immunology research, using advanced microscopy methods to visualise the cells of the immune system. His current research examines how effective immune responses are initiated by the body to fight acute and chronic viral infections and cancer.

Photo of Professor Megan Munsie 

Professor Megan Munsie, Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience

Professor Munsie’s work centres on the ethical, legal and social issues associated with stem cell science and regenerative medicine. Her research group conducts empirical research to underpin the development of engagement, education and awareness initiatives around stem cell therapies, and to inform national and international policy.

Read more about Professor Munsie’s advocacy for the regulation of unproven stem cell treatments.

We wish them continued success and recognition of their work.