2021 MJ Gething Award

Congratulations to Marlene Hao and Kathryn Munro (Dept of Anatomy & Physiology), the latest ECRs to receive the Award.

The MJ Gething Equity Award supports young researchers working in the biomedical sciences - with a focus on promoting gender equality and opportunities for female scientists.

The Award program is open throughout the year with applications closing in November.

Grants of up to $5,000 are available to support early career researchers with significant caring responsibilities to maintain research momentum or build their research profile.

Please join us in congratulating Marlene and Kathryn who join nine Early Career Researchers who have already received the Award this year:

Dr Lynette Beattie is a Research Officer and Immunologist. Her research is focused on a very specialised cell type and its immune responses to malaria.Department of Microbiology & Immunology
 Dr Marlene Hao is a Senior Research Fellow and Co-Lab Head of the  Stamp & Hao laboratory: Development of the enteric nervous system.  Her research is focused on investigating the development of the enteric nervous system, the nervous system in the gastrointestinal tract.Department of Anatomy & Physiology

Dr Grace Lidgerwood is a Postdoctoral Researcher focusing focusses on creating more complex hPSC-derived models of neurodegeneration, including organoid and co-culturing methods, bioengineered matrices and 3D printing.Department of Anatomy & Physiology
  Dr Alice McGovern is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow. Her research focuses on basic scientific developments in the field of respiratory neuroscience and the important role the nervous system plays in modulating respiratory tract infections. Department of Anatomy & Physiology
  Dr Magdalene Montgomery is Head of the Metabolic Tissue Cross-Talk Laboratory and NHMRC CDF Fellow. She has developed a discovery platform assessing liver-secreted proteins in human patients with varying stages of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NALFD) to identify new therapeutic targets for NAFLD and advanced liver fibrosis. Department of Anatomy & Physiology
  Dr Kate Murphy is a Senior Research Fellow. She is investigating conditions associated with muscle wasting such as cancer, ageing, injury and the muscular diseases. Her aim is to determine mechanisms causing wasting and weakness and to identify and test new therapies, with the overall goal of improving the life of affected patients. Department of Anatomy & Physiology
 Dr Kathryn Munro is a NHMRC-ARC Dementia Research Development Fellow. Kathryn has been investigating the effects of a potential Alzheimer's disease treatment on cognition, motor function and dendritic spine morphology in mice, and its impact on the functions of seizure-related gene 6 proteins.Department of Anatomy & Physiology
  Dr Elena Schneider-Futschik is a Senior Research Fellow and Head of the Elena Schneider-Futschik Laboratory. Her research is focused on the treatment and management of cystic fibrosis and other respiratory diseases. Department of Biochemistry & Pharmacology

Dr Nicole Shingles (née Wiedmann) is a Postdoctoral Fellow. Nicole's research focuses on  focuses on the neural innervation of the lower urinary tract, defining the neuroanatomical connections through immunohistological staining, complex imaging techniques, behavioural assays, and neural tracing.Department of Anatomy & Physiology

Dr Diana Stojanovski is a Senior Lecturer and Head of the Stojanovski Lab and is working as part of a global effort to understand the inner workings of one of the cells most intriguing and important organelles, the Mitochondrion.Department of Biochemistry & Pharmacology

Dr Kristy Swiderski is a Postdoctoral Fellow and Research Scientist investigating the mechanisms regulating skeletal muscle mass within the Centre for Muscle Research.Department of Anatomy & Physiology

Professor Emeritus Mary-Jane H. Gething was the Founder of the Gething-Sambrook Family Foundation, which has made this award possible. Mary-Jane is a passionate supporter of and advocate for young female researchers working in the biomedical sciences.