Celebrating and supporting LGBTQIA+ minds in STEMM

The first Australian symposium showcasing the great LGBTQIA+ minds in STEMM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths and Medicine) was held on the 5th of July.

The event celebrated the International Day of LGBTQIA+ People in STEMM by featuring prominent LGBTQIA+ researchers discussing their research, achievements, challenges and personal stories of being senior role models and overcoming a lack of visibility.

The event was hosted by The Florey Institute. Professor Steven Petrou, Director of the Florey said that our work, our science and community is better when we recognise diversity and inclusion.

“The Florey was delighted to host this event and see our researchers collaborating with their peers from other institutes to hold the first national, and second international, event for STEMM professionals who identify as LGBTQIA+,”  said Professor Petrou.

The Symposium showcased the research of prominent LGBTQIA+ researchers, including Professor Alice P├ębay, a member of the Centre for Stem Cell Systems.

The symposium received strong support from the scientific sector with Dr Alan Finkel AO (Chief Scientist of Australia), Ms Anna-Maria Arabia (CEO, Australian Academy of Science) and Ms Kylie Walker (CEO, Science and Technology Australia) all having involvement.

The inaugural Scott Johnson Memorial Award was presented to Dr Mohammad Tana in recognition of his commitment to making lives and workplaces safer and more inclusive for LBGTQIA+ people in STEM. The award is named in remembrance of Scott Johnson, a brilliant mathematician and PhD student was killed in a gay hate crime in Sydney in 1988.

At the symposium QueersInScience and the Australian Academy of Science launched a call for applications from individuals who are passionate about advocating for the inclusion of LGBTQIA+ people within STEMM organisations in their own state or territory.

To get involved as a state champion submit an expression on interest by Sunday 18 August 2019 here.

The growth of QueersInScience has been made possible through funding from the Theo Murphy Initiative (Australia). The symposium is supported by a Victorian Government Pride Events and Festivals Grant, The Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health, the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and the Centre for Stem Cell Systems, and was organised by sector advocacy group QueersInScience.