Villadangos laboratory: Antigen presenting cells & molecules that initiate T cell immunity against pathogens and cancer

Research Overview

Our laboratory studies the first event that triggers adaptive immune responses: the presentation of pathogen or tumor antigens to T cells by Dendritic Cells, B cells and Macrophages. We are characterizing the development, regulation and impairment of antigen presenting cells by pathogens, inflammatory mediators and tumours. We are also dissecting the biochemical machinery involved in antigen capture, processing and presentation. We use this knowledge to understand how T cell-dependent immunity is initiated and maintained, and apply it to design better vaccines and immunotherapies against infectious agents and cancer.

Techniques

Our lab uses cutting-edge biochemistry, cell biology and immunological techniques to unravel important immunological problems. Techniques include:

  • Experimental models of viral, bacterial and malaria infection
  • Analysis and development of immunotherapies against cancer
  • CRISPR-Cas9 for specific gene targeting and whole-genome library screens
  • Biochemistry
  • Flow cytometry
  • Immunofluorescent microscopy
  • Intra-vital microscopy
  • Proteomics and transcriptomics
  • Immunological assays

Staff

Laboratory Manager

Gerry (Geraldine) Healey | E-mail: g.healey@unimelb.edu.au

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Nishma Gupta | E-mail: guptan@unimelb.edu.au
Hamish McWilliam | E-mail: hamish.mcwilliam@unimelb.edu.au

Visiting Scientists

Jacinta Wubben (Monash University) | E-mail: jacinta.wubben@monash.edu

PhD Students

Haiyin Liu | E-mail: haiyinl1@student.unimelb.edu.au
Patrick Schriek | E-mail: pschriek@student.unimelb.edu.au

MPhil Students

Tian Zehua | E-mail: zehuat@student.unimelb.edu.au

MBS Students

Amy (Min Hsuang) Tsai | E-mail: mtsai1@student.unimelb.edu.au
Matthew Zorkau | E-mail: mzorkau@student.unimelb.edu.au

Hons Students

Charlee Bickers | E-mail: cbickers@student.unimelb.edu.au
Robyn McConville | E-mail: r.mcconville@student.unimelb.edu.au

Undergraduate Students

Ainoa Konomi Pilkati | E-mail: akonomi@student.unimelb.edu.au
Zehra Yigit | E-mail: zyigit@student.unimelb.edu.au

Research Publications

Click here for the results of a PubMed search of Jose's publications.

Click here for the results of a Google Scholar analysis of Jose's publications.